Junior Zookeeping

Junior ZooKeeping is a one of a kind experience for children interested in animals and their care! EARTH Ltd works with Southwick’s Zoo to provide this program which allows children the opportunity to get a behind the scenes look at how animals are cared for here at the zoo and what it takes to be a zookeeper. Junior Zookeepers assist with diet preparation, create enrichment, help care for some animals, and more.

We offer Junior Zookeeping sessions for ages 6-9, 10-12, and 13-16.

Click here for Junior Zookeeping Registration Page

Pricing per session

Non-Members: $60/child
EARTH Members: $50/child

Note to members: To receive your member discount, click “enter promotional code” when you register. Your code is the first 5 letters of your last name + the first 2 letters of your first name. Example: John Smith’s code would be SMITHJO. If your last name is fewer than 5 letters, just use your full last name + the first 2 letters of your first name, Jane Doe’s code would be DOEJA.

Time

9:00am-12:00pm
See schedule below for session dates

Program Notes:

  • Children must be registered online at least 24 hours in advance. Full payment is due at the time of registration.
  • Each session has a limited number of spots available. The ages 6-9 sessions have a maximum of 4 spaces, and the 10-12 and 13-16 sessions have 5 spaces each. The registration page will show the remaining spaces for each date.
  • We recommend that children participating wear appropriate footwear, such as sneakers, for walking around the zoo.
  • Children should bring a small backpack or other bag to carry a water bottle and snack.
  • Pick up and drop off for Junior Zookeeping will be by the picnic tables near the parking lot.

 

Topics

Herbivores
What does a rhino eat? How do you care for a giraffe? What is the softest herbivore in the world? What does a porcupine like to play with? Come learn about our plant-eating pals and help plan their diet, make them some enrichment, and get an up-close and personal hands on experience with some of our favorite herbivores!

Carnivores
Meat is on the menu!  What does a lion love?  What does a coati crave? What does a snake snack on? Learn how we feed our carnivorous critters and help us make them some lunch. You will also learn how the keepers entertain some of our smartest and most dangerous animals by making them enrichment. You’ll even get a chance to interact with some of our sharp toothed inhabitants.

Primates
Help us make toys for our monkeys to monkey around with. Pick out produce for our peckish Patas monkeys. Jr Zookeepers will get to meet a marmoset and get to know a galago. Primates are our closest relatives, learn how much they are like us and how they are different.

Birds
Birds are some of the smartest animals in the Animal Kingdom, so what exactly does it take to care for the closest living relatives of the dinosaurs?  Why don’t they fly away? How can they talk? What can we tell about a bird by its beak?  Break out of your shell and help us care for our fascinating feathered friends.

 

2018 Junior Zookeeping Dates

Note: Children must be registered online at least 24 hours in advance.

Each session is 9:00am-12:00pm.

Ages 6-9

Tuesday, June 26: Carnivores

Tuesday, July 3: Herbivores

Sunday, July 8: Primates

Thursday, July 19: Primates

Thursday, July 26: Herbivores

Saturday, July 28: Carnivores

Tuesday, July 31: Birds

Thursday, August 9: Herbivores

Tuesday, August 14: Birds

Saturday, August 18: Herbivores

Thursday, August 23: Primates

Sunday, August 26: Birds

Ages 10-12

Saturday, June 30: Primates

Thursday, July 5: Herbivores

Tuesday, July 10: Carnivores

Saturday, July 21: Birds

Tuesday, July 24: Primates

Thursday, August 2: Birds

Sunday, August 5: Herbivores

Thursday, August 16: Carnivores

Sunday, August 19: Primates

Tuesday, August 28: Herbivores

Ages 13-16

Thursday, June 28: Birds

Saturday, July 7: Carnivores

Thursday, July 12: Herbivores

Tuesday, July 17: Birds

Sunday, July 22: Primates

Tuesday, August 7: Primates

Tuesday, August 21: Herbivores

Comments are closed